Graduating in lingua mortua

4 thoughts on “Graduating in lingua mortua”

  1. Dear Melissa,
    Let me start by saying that you did an excellent job describing this ceremony. I was reading in the program they gave us that elements of this ceremony have their origin 800 yrs. ago. Also, the Chancellor only presides at the June ceremony, the Vice Chancellor presides at the other ones. You know the significance of this ceremony by the location it takes place, the University Senate House.

    ANTICLIMATIC indeed it was, which means, NO pictures, NOBODY in front of you preventing you from seeing your graduate graduating (because of course theirs is more important than yours or is the only one graduating), no running kids distracting you, and yes, NO cat calling ( because we all need to know their graduate’s name). Yes, indeed I like an anticlimactic graduation better!

    It was very organized and seemed like the graduates had practiced for over 100 yrs. No mistakes, nobody felt, etc. Another element that I liked was the size of the graduating
    group (not in the 100s or 1000s). Each graduate had his/her moment of fame! I loved the moment when the Vice-Chancellor bestowed upon you your degree. And, I didn’t miss it by attempting to take a picture! A photographer did that for me! I absorbed it ALL! Thank you, Cambridge!

    The ceremony was 99.99% in Latin but we were all mesmerized and seemed to follow and understand it all, every bit of it. We all paid attention to each and each of the graduates, all the same. Everybody followed the rules to a T.

    Yes, an anticlimactic ceremony it was and I LOVED it!

    I can’t wait for your next one!

    Congrats! Proud of you, M😍 M

    1. I am glad you enjoyed it! I definitely thought it was worth it. Thank you for being there, it meant a lot :) Looking forward now to the PhD graduation.

  2. Melissa, very good graphics with this post! Having been at both your graduations, I have to also agree that I prefer Cambridge ceremony over the American one. I say this mainly because the former places more emphasis on the graduates rather than the speeches, benedictions, cat calls, acrobatics, etc. that are found in the latter. Anyway, it’s great that you have experienced both types of ceremonies and that you’ll have the Cambridge experience yet again in the future. Congrats, grad! Love, Dad

Leave a comment